Why Yakuza 0 Is Magical

Why Yakuza 0 Is Magical

Yakuza 0 is an early contender for best game of 2017. Why is this the case? Read on to find out!


As of February 22nd, 2017, I have currently played about 20 hours of Yakuza 0. I just recently completed Chapter 7. I play more every day, and it seems like I always discover something fresh and new every time I turn on my PS4.

Yakuza 0 is a fantastic game, but it has almost flown entirely under the radar, as, whilst there has been some buzz from games media, the attention has mainly gone to the other release on January 24th, that being Resident Evil 7: Biohazard. Resident Evil 7 may indeed deserve all the praise it’s been given, but as a consequence, Yakuza 0 has slipped between the cracks.

It shouldn’t be this way. Yakuza 0 is a magical experience that I wholeheartedly recommend. Howlongtobeat.com states that Yakuza 0 takes around 30-50 hours to complete, depending on whether or not one decides to complete the various sub stories and side-activities the game has to offer. Let it be noted, one should absolutely complete these experiences, as they are a beast all their own.

So far in these sidestories, I have: been frisked, bought a child a certain magazine, helped a man fake a necklace, be an errand-boy, and shut down a ring of teenage women selling used lingerie. Needless to say, Yakuza 0 goes places weirder than perhaps any other that I have ever personally experienced in gaming before.

Yakuza 0 also possesses a variety of other side activities to do, such as pool, bowling, darts, disco, and karaoke, among others. Each of these mini-games feel different from the others as well as being fun to play. I decided to stop in a bar once I had shut down the burusera ring (the aforementioned lingerie ring), and upon entering, I noticed that a man was willing to challenge me to a 100000 yen game of darts. I accepted, beat him handily, and expected to collect. However, he raised the stakes, offering to buy me a drink. Sure, I thought. This probably won’t affect my chances of losing the money. It did. Yakuza 0 was able to accurately portray drunkenness when throwing darts, as the blurry vision and inaccurate aim meant that my tricky counterpart was able to take 500000 of my hard earned yen. Though it was nothing for me, as I had over 30 million in the bank, but in this case, I was a bit agitated, a feeling of being tricked coming over me. It amazes me that a simple side thing was able to do this for me, but because of how immersed I am into the virtual world, it made me feel as if I was personally swindled. This is why games are wonderful.

Yakuza 0 is a magical game, a game that I propose everyone play if they have the opportunity. I may only be a third of the way through, but so far, this is one of the best open-world experiences I have ever personally had in a video game. I didn’t even touch on the game’s wonderful and gut-wrenching story, or the intricate combat, or just the whole beauty of it all. All of these aspects could make an entire article about them, and it would carry the exact same passion that this one does. That’s just how special this game is.

Leave a Reply

